Dún Laoghaire-Rathdown [1] (Irish: Dún Laoghaire-Rath en Duin ) is a municipality in Ireland. It is part of the Dublin region in the province of Leinster. It is named after the former town of Dun Laoghaire and barony of Rathdown. Dún Laoghaire-Rathdown County Council is the local authority for the county. The population of the county is 206,261 according to the census of 2011. [2]

Geography and political subdivisions

Dún Laoghaire-Rathdown is bordered to the east by the Irish Sea, in the north of the local government area of Dublin City Council, in the west of South Dublin and the south of County Wicklow .University College Dublin and Dun Laoghaire Institute of Art, Design and Technology in the county . It is one of three small counties to which County Dublin was divided in 1994. Located in sydöstraDublin city, its county town is Dun Laoghaire. It is one of the four parts of the Dublin Region. It was created in 1994 through the merger of the areas covered by the Corporation of Dun Laoghaire and southeastern part of the former county Dublin. In addition, the powers of the former Dean Grange Joint Burial Board were incorporated in the new agency.As part of the Dublin Region , the Dún Laoghaire-Rathdown within the geographical area of responsibility Dublin Regional Authority. Following the adoption of the Local Government Act 2001, the Regional Authority set up.[3] It is one of eight such agencies in the state.

Cities, villages and suburbs

See also: List of townlands in County Dublin

  • Ballinteer
  • Ballybrack
  • black stone
  • Booterstown
  • Belfield
  • Cry
  • Cabinteely
  • Carrickmines
  • cherrywood
  • Church
  • Clonskeagh
  • Dalkey
  • Dean Grange
  • Dundrum
  • Dun Laoghaire
  • Foxrock
  • Goatstown
  • Glasthule
  • Glenageary
  • Glencullen
  • Johnstown
  • Killiney
  • Kilmacud
  • Kilternan
  • Leopards
  • Loughlinstown
  • Monks
  • Mount Merrion
  • Rathfarnham
  • Sandyford
  • Sandycove
  • Sallynoggin
  • Shankill
  • Step aside
  • Stillorgan
  • Ticknock

Terminology and etymology

The name Rathdown is a Anglicisation of the Irish “Ráth en Duin,” which means “ring forts of the fort.” Dun Laoghaire, means “Laoghaire’s fast.”

In Ireland, the word “county” has traditionally come before rather than after the county’s name: thus ” County Clare” in Ireland as opposed to “ClareCounty ” in Michigan, USA. But the counties created after 1994 often drop the word “County” completely or use it by name, such as Internet search engines show many more uses of Irish seats in the “Dún Laoghaire-Rathdown” than either “Rathdown County Dun Laoghaire-” or “Dun Laoghaire-Rathdown County “. There seems to be no official guidance on the issue and the local authorities use all three forms. [4]

There is no “Rathdown” city in the county. The modern county is basically the same divisions as medieval half-barony of Rathdown, a division of County Dublin.

Although it is the smallest county in Ireland in terms of area, it is also the county with the longest name. In addition, the official legal name of the county, in English, is spelled without a síneadh fada on the “u” in the Irish-speaking part of the name “Dun Laoghaire” [5] (although the current style in the county is to use síneadh fada on the name in both Irish and English). [6] thereason for this [ citation needed ] is that the names of the new Dublin county councils never examined at committee level in the Houses of the Oireachtas, and was last changed in 1991 local Government Act, which took effect. Both parliamentary debates and Dublin County Council’s own reorganization report published in 1992 concluded that the name Dún Laoghaire-Rathdown was “unacceptable”. A one-year proviso in the 1993 Local Government (Dublin) Act to change the name of the county at the local level were allowed by the new Council. The legislation allows the elected members of the Council to comment on further legislation to change the name of the county.

County insignia

The motto on the insignia of the County Council’s reading, Ó Chuan go Sliabh , Irish for “From the port to the mountain.” The crown of the device is that King Lóegaire mac Neill (Laoghaire, the högkung in the fifth century, who lived in the area).

Local governments and politics

Main article: Dún Laoghaire-Rathdown County Council

Dún Laoghaire-Rathdown County Council is the local authority for the county. There are six local electoral areas (Leah) for the county that once a total of 28 Council as follows: Ballybrack (6), Black Rock (4), Dundrum (6), Dun Laoghaire (6), “Glencullen / Sandyford” (3) still means (3).

1986 “administrative region” of Dublin was divided into three “electoral counties.” Dún Laoghaire-Rathdown, Dublin – Fingal, Dublin – Belgard [7] In 1994, the Dublin County Council and the Corporation of Dun Laoghaire was abolished and the three electoral counties became “administrative counties”, named Dún Laoghaire-Rathdown, Fingal and South Dublin respectively. [8] In 2001, the “administrative counties” was redesignated as simply “county”. The three counties with Dublin is Dublin region. The label “Dublin” continues to be used informally for this area (the city has been administered separately from Dublin since 1548).

For elections to Dáil Éireann, the county is divided between constituencies in Dun Laoghaire (4 representatives) and Dublin Rathdown (three representatives), with the division generally runs längsN11. These constituencies currently has four Fine Gael TD, a Green Party TD, an anti-austerity Alliance People before Profit TD and an independent TD.

Dublin region represents the Dublin constituency in the European elections.


The Dublin Area Rapid Transit system runs through the east coast of the county and connects to the center of Dublin in the north as well as other points north and south of Iarnród Éireann railway system, with connections to the Intercity train. The green Luas line runs through the center of the county.

There is a medium sized ferry port at Dun Laoghaire, with ferry crossings to and from Holyhead in North Wales, this is a popular route for tourists traveling across the Irish Sea from Great Britain. With the advent of faster boats have day trips with Dun Laoghaire Harbour has become more popular.


  1. Jump up ^ Electoral Change Act 2009 – Schedule
  2. Jump up ^ Census 2011 – County Dún Laoghaire-Rathdown Overview
  3. Jump up ^ (regional authorities) Establishment Order 1993.
  4. Jump up ^ Fingal County Council website, which (apart from the references to the Council itself) both “Fingal County” and “Fingal County” appears, but much less frequently than “Fingal” alone.
  5. Jump up ^ Local Government (Dublin) Act 1993 – Section 9 (2c)
  6. Jump up ^ DLRcoco.ie
  7. Jump up ^ “Local Government (Reorganisation) Act, 1985, section 12”.Irish Statute Book. Retrieved February 14, 2014. “SI No. 400/1993 – The Local Government (Dublin) Act, 1993 Initial Order, 1993.”. Irish Statute Book. Taken 14 februari2014.
  8. Jump up ^ “SI No. 400/1993 – The Local Government (Dublin) Act, 1993 Initial Order, 1993.”. Irish Statute Book. Retrieved February 14, 2014.”Local Government (Dublin) Act, 1993″. Irish Statute Book. Retrieved February 14, 2014.